Two Sides

To be honest this little snippet I wrote about Lucas shows two distinct sides of him. He’s been a character I’m working with and often popped up in my writing while I was dealing with rejection. Kind of as a voice of comfort. Or one I wish I had when dealing with all of this.

Also its an excerpt from a big story project I’m working on.

Warning: Language and Adult themes

 

For the remainder of the night the tension had remained after Corban had gotten into a shouting match with Vida. Markus was well on his way to being drunk, and Karawen had made sure he didn’t drink more than he could handle. Degendry had retreated to her rooms, or rather Alec’s rooms to speak with him, and Lucas, Lucas brooded in the corner just glaring at the paladin who had dared raise his hand let alone his voice to Vida. He made sure to remain unseen as Corban stalked up the stairs to a room he rented for the night and quickly slipped into the door before Corban closed it. Hell before the paladin got a chance to do anything to cool down Lucas advanced upon him, pinning him, armor and all to the wall.

“You know for one who tries to maintain a pure and holy image you are sure doing a shitty job at it.” Lucas growled and used his hand to cover the other man’s mouth while his piercing green eyes met the faded blue ones of the soldier. “I don’t like seeing anyone hurt my girls, yes all these women here are my girls. I love them care about them and make sure they are fucking protected from assholes like you.”

Throughout Lucas’s lecture Corban was utterly confused at why the man was calling him an asshole. He growled and grunted as he wrestled the ranger but to no avail. Lucas was clearly stronger.

“She loved you you know. Vida invested so much time and energy into you. And you didn’t even give her a second look because she wasn’t a pure and holy image of what you think women should be. You showed her a degree of respect because she runs this tavern but there is a hint of disgust I see in your eyes. When she did nothing but love you and care about you. You gave her disdainful looks because she runs a whorehouse along with her tavern. Right now this is the best she can do with the situation she’s been given and you think she and all the other girls can do better!”

“I never -”

“Don’t fucking talk! You don’t get any right or chance to defend yourself you sack of shit! No one will ever meet your standards of perfection because you have a stick so far up your ass that you can’t see straight! And she forgave that. She forgave a lot for you but tonight… tonight was the final straw for her! And for me!” He then punched him hard in the face effectively breaking his nose. “For all the leading on and the disdainful looks you gave behind her back when she wasn’t looking you deserve to have the pulp beaten out of you.” He threw him across the floor into a corner. “And tomorrow you get to go off to the bitch who was falsely crowned because apparently she represents purity in your eyes. You’ve got a lot of skewed views on things you fucker.” Lucas pounced on the man pinning him to the ground eyes burning with rage. “And thanks to you Vida is now broken or at least cracked. Someone has to pick up the pieces. Thank you for making her feel like less than she is.” He stood up and kicked him hard in the face before storming down the stairs and to the room he shared with his beloved Vida.

~~~

Lucas found her sitting on the bed hunched over appearing smaller than she ever had been and took a seat beside her pulling her into his arms where she curled into him and clung to the man for dear life.

“You deserve so so much better than him.” He whispered. “You always have.”

“He can go rot in hell. Let that bastard be an example of how not to be a fucking paladin. His captain even though he gets drunk is better than him!” Vida snapped before bursting into tears again. Lucas felt rage surge within him for making Vida cry, for hurting her in a way he knew he couldn’t heal.

“Whatever he did to you…I’ll make sure he pays for it.” He whispered as he cradled her close rocking her gently. “Whatever he thinks of you do not let it get to you. You are one of the strongest women I know…one of the ones who is doing the best she can with what she has. Your heart…is so big that you care so much about people. Regardless of where they have been.” He reminded her.

“What about you…” She asked quietly. “Do you see me as a dirty whore like he did…do you see me as someone who can do better because my profession is degrading?”

“No.” He tilted her face up to look at him. “I see you…as a woman who is fighting to survive, who is fighting to regain what she has lost, who goes above and beyond for those she loves and cares about. I see a strong woman who has been holding it together for too long and who needs someone to make sure she stands upright when she cannot do it on her own. This arrangement isn’t ideal but right now it’s safe. Safe until all this bullshit is overwith.” He stroked her hair lightly. “Vida I’ve always seen you as someone special, someone who has always been strong. Someone who can capture the heart of someone…and never let it go…” He kissed her forehead. “I love you. I have always loved you and no matter what I always will because you are the best…you are my best friend….you’ve always been that way and I will be damned if I let someone as stupid as Corban hurt you.”

She clung to him tightly. “I should have known…I should have known better….you were right…”

“Shush.” He soothed. “He’s no good for you. I’m no better, but at least I’m honest.” He told her. “Let him go off and get himself killed.” He told her and kissed her head. “I will always love you and be here for you. Because you deserve it.”

 

Just a first draft and it is in need of considerable improvement. But I was emotional when I wrote this and needed to express it in a manner where I wasn’t opening myself up raw again. But yeah. Expect to see more of Lucas in future writings because he’s fun to play with.

~ The Brooding Dragon

 

Leave a Reply

