What If…

What if it all goes to hell…

What if we die tomorrow…

What if we get caught in World War Three and the casualties are more than we can handle…

What if the Doomsday clock hits midnight…

What if history repeats itself…

What if I don’t get to see my family again…

What if I never get to hold my niece again or even see her smile…

What if we all die in a nuclear explosion…

What if I really am a terrible person…

What if things do get worse and we start seeing people rounded up into camps again…

What if I go to hell…

What if imagination takes us too far into forbidden territory and we never survive…

 

What if I never find a significant other…

What if I can’t have children…

What if I get cancer…

What if this…

What if that…

What if…

So many what ifs and uncertainties in life that scare us or even drive us to certain madness.

And most of the time we focus on those that our demons present us.

We forget the one the angels have saved for us.

They come out of the dark corners and crevices.

And glow so brightly that not even demons can fight it.

What if I find the right one to be with forever.

What if I have an amazing career.

What if I learn something.

What if the world starts to change.

What if we show a little kindness.

What if we spread love.

What if we share music, laughter, joy.

What if we work hard and earn that diploma.

What if we take home a new furry friend who loves us forever.

What if we obsess over an amazing series.

What if we find an amazing new place to eat.

What if we go on a crazy adventure.

What if Dragons do exist.

What if we made magic.

What if we loved our family.

What if I get to see my niece grow and help her tackle life and take it by the horns.

What if so much good happens that the bad will fade away.

What if I go to Heaven.

What if I Succeed.

What if…

What if…

 

“There is freedom waiting for you,
On the breezes of the sky,
And you ask “What if I fall?”
Oh but my darling,
What if you fly?”
Erin Hanson

~ The Brooding Dragon

Leave a Reply

